Spoiler discussion and speculation following episode 2

Starbright

Project QL Intern
Oct 6, 2022
I've just finished episode 2 and its time to think about those 3 missing years *and* what Jen and Ian spoke of.

It sounds like Ian did something more then he said and I have an educated guess what it might be.

But first did Jen find out about what he did or work with him.

I actually have a few ideas here.

Its been 3 years for the team and moments for Ben.

They said specifically that he was presumed dead or lost "when he leaped as a host".

This leads me to several thoughts.

We also have the "cheat code" and well I'm a veteran star trek fan - I'm pondering the equivalent of a transporter pattern buffer situation.

He has been stuck in a half- leaped state until Ian did something to free him to leap again OR someone leaped for the express purpose of freeing/saving Ben.

With a 3 year time gap and us never seeing who came out of the accelerator it is actually *possible* that Sam *did* come home and then either returned to leaping or is in the present to eventually talk to.

There is even a remote possibility that Tom Westfall is related to Sam somehow - Tom being both a common name and his brother's name.

You will remember that Sam also double leaped or potentially leaped while a host - in the leap back. (And I do wonder if he was actually in Al's body or his own during that? There are a few subtle indicators that he might actually be Al) but either way that is when Sam "double-leaped" or leaped as a host.

My previously stated theory is Sam became more physically himself after that point. Now Ben starts out fully leaping into other people's bodies - I think they may have been indicating through the old woman being able to break down that wall - that he is now much more physically himself wrapped in the host's aura ;). Aka at either level one or two of how things were for Sam - interesting.