An intro and a question...

Operator13

Project QL Intern
Sep 4, 2006
Hi all, newbie here! I got into QL more or less because of Dean Stockwell - I'm a classic film enthusiast and I had no idea that Dean had a career beyond the early 60s until someone pointed out to me his role in QL. I recorded one of the marathons on Sci-Fi recently and was instantly hooked. I only knew of Scott Bakula from a recording I have of a Stephen Sondheim show, of all things, so it was nice to really see him in his element here. And of course it's just wonderful to see Dean in something semi-recent (not to mention in a character so different from the sensitive, introverted types he mostly played)...here I was thinking he'd just dropped off the face of the earth, career-wise, after the 60s.

So, here is my question: I've got the R1 DVD editions of S1 and S2, and I am aware of the music replacement issue. Do the versions they show on the Sci-Fi channel keep the music intact, or have they been tampered with as well?

Thanks a bunch in advance!

The versions on Sci-Fi have tiny bits (usually only seconds-worth) of scenes cut out, but all the original music is in place.

So, for example, when you watch the episode "MIA" on Sci-Fi, you get to hear Ray Charles singing "Georgia" in the final scene. But on the DVD, you hear some horrible generic muzak. But on the other hand, I think there are a few pieces of dialogue that are in the DVD episodes that aren't in the "syndicut" episodes on Sci-Fi.

But seeing as how I have only ever seen the eps on Sci-Fi, I much prefer my VHS recordings that have the music preserved, than paying $35-40 for DVDs that have a couple "new" (to me) lines of dialogue.

But that's just me.

Anyway, welcome to the board! I hope you enjoy it here. It's a wonderful place for all things QL.